Goodnight Bush – kid friendly?

My copy arrived today after a 2-week back order. The book is lighting up the blogwaves from the left and the right.

The book is a great read for adults, but is it appropriate for kids? I mean, what do kids take away from all these grown-up political discussions? My kids mimic my political views at this stage in their lives (6 and 9) but mimic is the key word, right?

My 9 year couldn’t sleep last night and so she read FoxTrot while I watched the 10pm Olberman. As I ranted along with Rachel Maddow at the underweighted reaction to Phil Gramm’s “American’s are whiners” comment, Lily asked me what I was so upset about.

I explained that it was a matter of fairness. If, as a pundit, you freak out for months over bitter-gate, then shouldn’t whiner-gate inspire more than a one-day freak out? I think she got it.

I’ll be sharing Goodnight Bush with the kids this weekend and we’ll see what they get from it. I’m curious about other parents’ kids’ reactions.


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

