Is writing easy for you?

Natalie Angier, science wrtiter for the New York Times, among other titles:

No. Mostly it’s a question of trying to quiet the dybbuks — all the voices that tell you you’re no good, you can’t do it, every kind of criticism you can come up with. You’re just trying to shut them up and let yourself go. I’d say I spend 50 percent of my time trying to get them out of the way. There are times when I do enjoy writing, but they are definitely in a minority.

If she has this much trouble, what about mere mortals like me and you? This quote is posted prominently on my wall.

Leave a Reply

